Wardrobes

As the house continues to take shape, I’m starting the arduous task of getting quotes on some of the post handover jobs. On the high priority is to organise the wardrobes.

I’m mentally setting an intention to unpack everything out of boxes and put them away where they belong as soon as humanly possible. After months of living in clutter and organised chaos, I just want some semblance of normality and enjoy the new house and make it our home.

We made the last minute decision to remove the wardrobe fitout from the contract. The standard Metricon offering lacked in style and functionality.

So, what’s on the shopping list?

For the master bedroom, we have his and hers closet space.

Our Hudson Master Suite

Our Hudson Master Suite

Hubby gets the wall adjacent to the bed. It’s over 4 metres wide! That wall is the first thing you see as you walk into the bedroom so we want simple clean lines in a timber veneer finish something like these beauties.

via Design-Milk

via Studioko

via Tristanauer

If you were reading the blog last year, you may recall my design dilemma over my walk-in. Well after mulling over some of the fantastic ideas from my awesome blog readers and brainstorming with wardrobe designers, I decided that a U-shape layout without doors would give me the most bang for my buck! I’ve been dreaming about having ample room for all my clothes, shoes, bags, jewellery and all the little trinkets I’ve accumulated over the years!
image

via Pinterest

I’m also seriously considering this glamorous pendant for my walk-in. I’ve had a serious lusting for it since I saw it featured in Michael and Carlene’s winning powder room on The Block.

For the girls’ bedrooms, we’re going to keep it simple and classic. The plan is for miss 9 year old and little miss 2 year old to each have an L-shape layout with drawers, shelves and hanging rails in their walk-in closets. Think timeless white, unassuming and functional.

Miss 14 year-old fashionista is old enough that she wants to collaborate with me on designing her bedroom. She likes a monochrome decor and mirrored built-in robes. A quick Pinterest sesh gave us some inspiration pics.

What’s on your post handover list?

13 thoughts on “Wardrobes

  1. trixee says:

    We removed the robe fitout from our contract too, much cheaper to do it ourselves after handover. I love that light fitting! I’m considering using it for either the feature entry light or over the dining table. I must try and find a local shop that stocks it just so I can see what it’s like in person. Love that pic of the robe with the wallpaper behind it.

  2. lunar62 says:

    I like the last two robes as well. I like the headboard in the former and plan to make my own so that’s on my list to do after handover.
    Also on the list: Going for a floor to ceiling mirror wall next to my robe by the en-suite and also having a mirror cut to fit in the GF hall alcove. This will increase light and add a spacious feel plus as an added bonus reflect my lovely Aboriginal artwork – two for the price of one πŸ™‚
    Also have a snazzy postbox made – hubby doesn’t know yet….

    • Sheilzy says:

      What a great idea about the mirror cutout in the alcove! Don’t mind if I borrow this idea for our own niche in the hallway. Thanks DeaπŸ˜„
      Ps, I’m still on the hunt for the Aboriginal art to feature in the entrance.

      • lunar62 says:

        I saw it in one of the show houses and thought it looked great.
        Well I have my artwork already but according to The Block that is the wrong way to do it. Room first then artwork. Ah well I’m used to marching to the beat of my own drum! πŸ™‚

      • Sheilzy says:

        Go Dea! I’m usually an avid Block fan but for some reason I can’t seem to get into it this season. I watched the master bedroom reveal last night and I found it underwhelming. Maybe it’s a case of much of the same thing?

      • lunar62 says:

        I record it and fast forward to get to the interesting bits πŸ™‚ I’m interested in next week as its kitchen week and they’ve hinted that some are not up to par.

  3. Johanne says:

    Thankfully my post handover list does not include wardrobes, except for one for my young son. I’m on the hunt for a locker or two, or something similar for him. Our post hand-over biggies are floors, aircon and shutters. I had to have the first two sorted out before construction started, so that leaves me with blinds. But my list is very long, so I’m prioritising. Blog post about it on the cards for April.
    I love the look of your own WIR plan – now if only we had only one colour of clothing, ours too could look like that!

    • Sheilzy says:

      Joh I’m also looking at window furnishings. We want plantation shutters on most windows and curtains for the bifold and stacker doors. Are you doing driveway after handover? I’m trying to work out whether we should do driveway before the big move.

      • Johanne says:

        Yes we are doing driveway after handover. Cobblestones! I’m not sure where to put this in the schedule. On one hand I want it early to reduce sand in house, on the other hand I don’t want trades and their trucks arriving on a driveway that is “work in progress “.

      • Sheilzy says:

        I’d love cobblestones! How romantic but too exxy😒 I have the same dilemma about the schedule. I think having the driveway before moving in reduces the amount of dirt tracked into the house. But I’m concerned about wear and tear given the amount of earthworks needed for the landscaping, etc.

  4. laurencornes says:

    Love your robe ideas! Robes are all being done by the builder except we will need to get a wardrobe fit out for our walk-in – I’m hoping for something like what you’ve posted. Air-con, flooring, window furnishings and organising the vanity for the powder room are all on our post-handover list. We should have approx 2 months between handover and move in – I want to move into a very finished house.

    • Sheilzy says:

      That’s an impressive list you have there! The thought of another 2 months before moving on is enough to send me to the loony bin. We are literally willing the builder to get us in asap!

Leave a Reply

