Ready for walls

Finally it looks like the rain has gone away and we have a good stretch of perfect autumn days here in Sydney. Hallelujah!

The block was a hive of activity today with not one, not two but three different trades on site. It certainly feels like our build has kicked into gear.

The roofers were back to finish off the lower roof in the remaining sections of the garage, study, kitchen and butlers pantry. The guys from Insulfix were busy installing the insulation upstairs. These guys worked like machines. When I drove by at 12pm,  they hadn’t even started putting in the ceiling batts. At 2pm, the ceiling looked to be done and dusted!

 

Looking up from the stairwell void

 

We went with the Metricon standard Bradford Gold R2.0 insulation for the external walls.  For the home theatre, we added acoustic sound insulation which hopefully reduces the sound of bad karaoke transmitting through the walls!

The plasterboard have also been delivered and the guys were setting out ready to get started tomorrow! I can’t believe that by the end of the week we will have all internal walls in place! It’s really exciting to see the house transform. We still have a long way to go but I’m starting to see that glimmer of light at the end of what feels like a long tunnel.

Watch this space😄

Love love love our stairwell windows!

11 thoughts on “Ready for walls

  1. Johanne says:

    Your stairwell area is going to be such an amazing feature with the windows and void. Glad to hear your build is powering along. Protecting the neighbours from your singing???? Or vice versa?

    • Sheilzy says:

      I like to dabble in a bit of karaoke much to my daughters’ dismay. So hopefully the sound batts help mask my bad singing lol

      Re stairwell, I’m in a bit of a quandary over lights. I’d shortlisted the Bocci pendant but now I’m not too sure. I saw this stunning black pendant which I think will look amazing in a cluster of 3. First world problems!

      • Johanne says:

        Void lighting is tricky. The Bocci is gorgeous en masse and I think suits your style. Clusters of pendants look so good, but very pricey. I only planned for one pendant in our entry void. Spending has to stop somewhere.

  2. lunar62 says:

    Your stairwell will look great.
    Have you given any thought as to how you’re going to clean that lovely tall window. I only ask as I have a tall hall window too and at 5’2″ high I’m not going to reach very far 🙂

    • Sheilzy says:

      I’m a shortie myself and to be honest I haven’t thought about the logistics of living in the new house! I’ll be leaving that window for the cleaners😜

  3. trixee says:

    Bad karaoke! No such thing as bad karaoke!
    Glad to see it’s progressing well. Do you have a link to that black pendant you were talking about?

Leave a Reply

