Tiling

We are inching ever so close to the finish line! It feels unreal to be at this point after months of planning, designing and a lot of waiting.

Our lone tiler is doing a good job. I reckon he’s completed roughly 60% of the house. We didn’t splurge on tiles and most of our floor and wall tiles were from the Metricon’s standard range. I had my doubts but really happy with how our selections have come up.

Alfresco


Laundry

Laundry


DSC_0731

Downstairs Powder Room


Kids Bathroom

Kids Bathroom


DSC_0726

Glass mosaics in kids shower niche


DSC_0728

Ensuite


DSC_0729

Feature mosaics in shower niche. I wish we had the budget to run the mosaics up the full length of that shower wall

I dragged my tribe to the Sydney Home Show to get ideas on some of the finishing touches we need after handover. We even managed to squeeze in a quick complimentary ‘Ask the Expert’ consultations with a landscaper and interior designer. I highly recommend a visit but maybe leave the kids at home if you can. After 10 minutes, they were already asking when we were leaving! Those lolly jars in the exhibitors’ stands really came in handy 🙂

6 thoughts on “Tiling

  1. lunar62 says:

    Looking good 🙂
    I have chosen a very similar tile to your main en-suite tile, I hope mine looks as good. Can’t wait to see your beautiful bath in situ.

    I went solo to the show but detoured into the Mind, Body & Soul show hoping to catch some good vibes and de-stress from the build. LOL
    …. it was either that or a drink and I couldn’t see any Sauvignon Blanc.

    • Sheilzy says:

      I should have gone taken the day off on Friday and gone by myself. What was I thinking dragging 3 kids to the show? Can’t wait to get that stone bath in! It’s going to be a painful process as we’d need to customise the bath to make sure the waste point lines up exactly to the Metricon supplied Kado. It will be an 8-10 week wait before the stone bath is ready. But I’m sure it’s worth the wait!😄

  2. trixee says:

    Gosh you must be really close to finishing now! Quick question re laundry tile. Did you use the floor tile for the skirting? I want to do that but I’m not sure how common it is. Did your tiler just cut the floor tile to suit?

    • Sheilzy says:

      Just checked tiling paperwork and it didn’t specify which tile’s supposed to be used as skirting. We’ve chosen white tiles to be laid in subway pattern on the walls so I guess the tiler used the floor tiles as skirting. To be honest I didn’t really pay that much attention to the laundry but from the photos I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

